IU Distinguished Professor Olaf Sporns

received the 2017 Patrick Suppes Prize from the American Philosophical Society "in recognition of his transformation of the understanding of the relation of brain to behavior." The Patrick Suppes Prize honors accomplishments in three scholarly fields, with the prize rotating each year between philosophy of science, psychology or neuroscience and history of science.

Professor Karin James

recently received two IU grants. A $25,000 grant from the Johnson Center for Innovation and Translational Research will enable James, PBS electronics specialist Jeff Sturgeon, graduate student Sophia Vinci-Booher and others to further develop the groundbreaking technology needed to place a digital tablet in the MRI scanner. In collaboration with School of Education Professor Rebecca Martinez, James was also awarded funding from the IU Social Science Research Commons for their proposal to compare the efficacy of two reading intervention programs for struggling readers.

PBS professor Franco Pestilli will lead a $650,000 grant from the National Science Foundation's BRAIN Initiative,

which will support a cloud-based computing platform called Brain Life that he and his team are developing. The system provides a pipeline for researchers to process data and get results. It also enables researchers to reuse data sets to develop their methods, train data scientists or test the reproducibility of results. Read the IU press release.

Read an interview with Pestilli about the project in the October 2017 APS Observer.

APS Observer

The 2017 Gill Symposium honored two experts

in the neuroscience of pain and the mechanisms of touch, itch and inflammation during the Linda and Jack Gill Center for Biomolecular Science's 2017 symposium. Dr. Clifford J. Woolf, a professor of anesthesiology, neurology and neurobiology at Boston Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School, was named the 2017 Gill Distinguished Scientist. Diana Bautista, an associate professor of cell and developmental biology at the University of California, Berkeley, was named the 2017 Gill Transformative Investigator. Read the IU press release.

Irina Castellanos, a former postdoctoral researcher in David Pisoni's lab

in collaboration with Pisoni, IUSM professor Willian Kronenberger and postdoctoral researcher Jessica Beer were recently awarded the 2016 Editor's Award chosen by the Editor-in-Chief of the American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology for their article, "Early Expressive Language Skills Predict Long-Term Neurocognitive Outcomes in Cochlear Implant Users." The award is given each year to works that meet the highest quality standards in research design and presentation. Castellanos is currently an assistant professor at Ohio State.

As chair of the Allies and Advocates for Gender Equity at the Center of Excellence for Women in Technology, Professor Tom James

leads a group of male faculty, as an auxiliary to CEWiT, working primarily with other men, to promote and support efforts toward gender equity at IU Bloomington. Read more in the Inside IU Bloomington newsletter.